A Book From Hell

Right….So early this morning I finished reading A Job From Hell by Jayde Scott.

 

I’m still trying to figure out why I forced myself to keep reading this. I’m also trying to figure out why this book has so many 4 and 5 star reviews.

I’m giving it 2 stars. And that is being more than generous.

What I liked about it:

Well this is a short list. Well for one, it’s about vampires! What’s not to love? Two, I loved the secondary characters. Kieran, Clare, and Cass were fun to read. Kieran and Cass’s constant verbal sparring was pretty enjoyable. Until we got to the climax of the book, and the sparring is taking place while there’s supposed to be a build-up to nail biting drama. But wait, this is supposed to be what I liked. Right.

Aiden, the “leading man” was okay most of the time. The narrative splits up between his POV and Amber’s, and his chapters are the only ones where we find out what the hell is actually going on with the supposed plot. Kind of, I mean I still don’t understand the whole thing with the race, the jewels, and what exactly the whole point of it all was. Also, I get the thing about “finding your mate, and it’s your OOONLY mate so you love them regardless of anything”…but my God, after a week of Amber’s BS I’d be ready to true death her. But what does he want. To turn her, to be together forever. There’s such a thing as being TOO blinded by love, or lust, or mate brain bond or whatever, and Aiden is a perfect example of that. Well, that’s about it. Aiden, Kieran, Clare, and Cass, MOST of the time were the only reason I kept reading.

What I hated:

Oh dear God. This calls for bullet points.

  • Amber, our main character. Annoying, bitchy, McDonald’s obsessed little twit.
  • The plot. I still don’t get it. In summary. Aiden saw Amber randomly one day, fell in looove! So he stalks her and her family and puts out a newspaper ad for a housekeeper, which she of course applies for. So he hires her so he can get into her pants head and make her fall in love with him two. Because they’re soul mates and meant to be. Mwaahaha.  A few days after she starts her “job” her dipshit brother Dallas comes to visit her and stumbles across a cabin full of jewels somewhere in the woods around Aiden’s house. So he gets Amber to sneak out of the house with him to steal the jewels. The jewels are something to do with a Paranormal Beastie Quest for a book of spells or something. I still don’t get this. Aiden, being a paranormal beastie, totally cheats and chains the other beasties to a tree so he can get the jewels. But Amber’s already found them. And in a fit of dumb luck, picked them up in the right sequence so that she wins The Sight. I don’t even know what happens after this. But Aiden knows she won, Amber sees ghosts, and idiot Dallas takes the jewels to sell on the black market or something. Somewhere in here Amber starts having feelings for Aiden “cuz he’s HOTT!!” but is torn because her ex only broke up with her temporarily. So she calls him, a bimbo answers his phone, and yay! now she’s free to get with Aiden! Until she finds out he’s a vampire. Then she gets pissed, quits her job (which she wasn’t doing anyway) and wants to go home. Aiden tells her he needs her to go to the edge of death(by letting him feed on her awesome blood), go into the Otherworld and find THE BOOK for him so he can do some voodoo and be a non-blood drinking vampire and go tanning on the beach. She agrees to this, for reasons I have yet to understand. So they go to a graveyard, Aiden feeds on her and nearly kills her, she goes into the Otherworld bitching and making unfunny jokes the whole way.  She finds the book, bitches her way back into the real world, Clare teleports her back to the house to recover, and some creepy fairy (who previously kidnapped Amber but is now helping?) does the voodoo sunlight spell on Aiden and he passes out. Somehow he ends up back at the house just in time to nearly get staked by his child and lose most of his blood so he can’t turn Amber, who’s pretty much flatlining by this point. I would have been okay with both of them dying and the book ending here, but of course, there’s an epilogue-ish final chapter. Let’s just say that at the last line of the book…my exact reaction was, “You. Ungrateful. Bitch. Thank GOD this book is over!”
  • Editing. Character development. Plot development. Even after writing that summary, I still have no idea what the point of the whole thing was. Books like this are why I have issues with self-publishing.

I could go on and on raging about this book, but this will be the last. Succubi. As if there weren’t enough paranormal beasties running around, she throws in Succubi. And sadly, even though the Succubus was the evil bitch character, I was kinda rooting for her. I think she was the only character who pretty much had a legit reason for what she was doing, warped as it was.

So yeah….I’m not touching the rest of this series, even if it does spin off with some of the characters I liked. I’m pretty sure the author would make me hate them by the end, so I’ll just leave them here.

Leave a Reply

